Cook with Me

Mushroom Tagliatelle and Homemade Chips // Cook With Me #06 + #07

Hiya!

Welcome back to ‘Cook With Me’, where I’m attempting 12 (hopefully easy) recipes that I’ve never tried before. This time, it was a two for one deal (clearly my confidence is growing). I started off with a mushroom tagliatelle, then added some homemade chips to serve as a side dish.

Mushroom tagliatelle – https://www.errenskitchen.com/creamy-tagliatelle-mushrooms/

Homemade chips – https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/oven-roasted-chips

To get the ball rolling, I needed to get the chips into the oven. The recipe was actually really easy to do: I chopped up some potatoes into chunky slices then dressed them with olive oil. To taste, I added some salt and even some rosemary (which was grown in our back garden!).

I then got to work on the tagliatelle – to start, I got some mushrooms chopped, along with onions and garlic (very similar to my risotto recipe)!

The garlic, onion and mushrooms

I then got the tagliatelle on the go. It looks pretty small in the pan, but believe me, they spread out quite a bit when they cook! Whilst this was happening, I got to work on the sauce, with garlic, mushroom and onion together in a saucepan. (I also checked on my chips at this point, which needed turning halfway through cooking).

To carry on with the sauce, I was meant to add some white wine and quite a lot of cream. Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough of either of these, so it was time to improvise. In place of the wine, I used some vegetable stock, and to replace some of the cream I used full milk instead. Of course, to make everything nicer I added plenty of cheese too!

The sauce in progress

Once the tagliatelle was drained and added to the sauce, I took my chips out of the oven ready to serve. For the finishing touches, I added some salt and herbs to the pasta dish (including the garden rosemary of course!). In hindsight, I probably should have chopped this up. Despite looking good, it keep getting stuck in my teeth and didn’t make for a very nice eating experience…

Considering I didn’t have some of the ingredients for the tagliatelle recipe, I think both dishes turned out alright! I really liked the chips, but maybe if I use ‘floury’ potatoes like the recipe suggested, they could be even better. They were incredibly easy to make though, so I give them a 9/10! The tagliatelle was definitely a hit for sure, that one gets a 10/10 from me in terms of ease and taste 🙂

Seven recipes down, five to go!

To see what I cooked last time, click here.

See you in my next post!

doctor2be2022 x

Leave a comment